French Foodie Flick

Julie_and_juliaIf you haven’t seen Julie and Julia yet, I recommend it. I saw it twice–in the same weekend. Once with my hubby and once with my cooking friends. Meryl Streep captured the essence of Julia Child. I could see and feel Julia’s passion about food.

Julia was a foodie long before her training at Cordon Bleu and opening her own cooking school, L’Ecole Des 3 Courmandes. It was her love of food that led to her career as a gourmet, making French cuisine accesible to “the servantless American cook.” That would be me!

French cooking is high on flavor. The French strike a perfect balance when it comes to great tasting food–and you can too. Here’s how it works:

  • Excellent flavor leads to pleasure.
  • Pleasure allows you to tune-in to each bite, savoring the texture, flavor and aroma.
  • Over-indulgence isn’t necessary when you freely offer yourself flavorful food.

Mediocrity may leave you wanting for more. Notice what happens when you settle for something to eat that isn’t what you were craving. Do you eat less than you desire, but keep munching trying to find that certain somethng that really hits the spot?

So you say, “I can’t cook gourmet for all of my meals.” Not every meal has to be bon vivant. But every meal can offer you something you are excited about. Sometimes your meals will be ho-hum and you have to make do. That’s okay–eat enough to get by and plan to have something tasty and delicious at your next meal.

If you get in a rut and can’t think of a thing to make for dinner, here are some ideas to put you back on track:

  • Pick up a food magazine at the newstand. They feature seasonal recipes and usualy have great pictures to entice you.
  • Borrow a cookbook from the library.
  • Tune-in to a cooking show. I particularly like PBS’s America’s Test Kitchen. A friend told me that she and her daughter like the Food Network’s Barefoot Contessa because Ina Garten makes simple dishes and instructs in a calming manner.
  • Take a cooking class through your local community education program, community college or university. Check around–there may be a local entrepeneur offering cooking lessons.

And that entrepeneur just may be another Julia Child. Can you imagine? Enrolling in a cooking class in 1950’s Paris and having Julia as your instructor?! L’Ecole Des 3 Courmandes, the name of Julia and friends’ school, translated is “The School of the 3 Happy Eaters.” Now that’s a place I would enthusiastically enroll. Bon appetit!

2 comments so far

  1. Valerie on

    I enjoyed this article, especially your tips on what to do when you’re in a food rut. In addition to your suggestions, I like to ask my friends and colleagues what they’re currently enjoying cooking as a way to generate some new ideas for myself. Thank you for such an informative website, Peggy!

  2. Peggy Marlatt on

    Nicely written article. I enjoyed the tips on finding new ideas with so many sources…think outside the box! I tried making a pumpkin dessert similar to your shared recipe…same ingredients different way of layering-I am going to try making it again but this time using the recipe you shared.
    You continue to inspire me.


Leave a Reply

